Governing Board

Athlos Academy of Jefferson Parish is governed by a dedicated board comprised of parents, teachers, and community members. The board is responsible for developing, implementing, and assessing policy; instituting sound employee relations; conducting open meetings; recognizing and conforming to the legal mandates imposed by state and federal laws; and governing within the limits of the delegation of state authority as a non-profit and public school board.

Additionally, the board has an obligation to assess its successes and challenges, inform the public of all deliberations and decisions, promote accountability, avoid abuse of power, enhance public understanding of its mission, conform to standards of ethical behavior, provide a framework for setting goals, and develop strategic plans for the accomplishment of those goals.

Board Calendar

Board meetings are conducted in accordance with open meeting law. The governing board normally holds board meetings on the first Wednesday of each month. Check the board calendar for exact dates and times. Unless otherwise noted, the meetings are held at:

Athlos Academy of Jefferson Parish
979 Behrman Hwy.
Terrytown, LA, 70056

Quicklinks

Board Members

Harvey Wier, Board Chair
hwier@athlosjp.org

  • Term Began June 2019
  • Finance Committee

Jaquetta Wright, Vice Chair
jwright@athlosjp.org

  • Term Began May 2019

Teri Black, Secretary
tblack@athlosjp.org

  • Term Began March 2019

John Foard, Treasurer
jfoard@athlosjp.org

  • Term Began November 2016
  • Finance Committee

Elydia Ketchens, Board Member
eketchens@athlosjp.org

  • Term Began March 2019
  • Governance Committee

Landon Allen, Board Member
lallen@athlosjp.org

  • Term Began May 2016
  • Finance Committee

Nick Berg, Board Member
nberg@athlosjp.org

  • Term Began July 2019
  • Governance Committee

Ruben Johnson, Board Member
rjohnson@athlosjp.org

  • Term Began July 2010
  • Governance Committee

Tiffany Nelson, Board Member
tnelson@athlosjp.org

  • Term Began March 2019

Under the direction of the board, a finance committee and a governance committee have been formed.

Finance Committee – 6:30pm/CT third Wednesday of the month

Governance Committee Members – 6pm/CT first Wednesday of the month

 

All meeting dates and times subject to change

Meeting Agendas & Minutes

Contact Information

To reach the Board of Directors or a committee:

Athlos Academy of Jefferson Parish
979 Behrman Hwy.
Terrytown, LA, 70056
(504) 290-2510
info@athlosjp.org