Governing Board

Athlos Academy of Jefferson Parish is governed by a dedicated board comprised of parents, teachers, and community members. The board is responsible for developing, implementing, and assessing policy; instituting sound employee relations; conducting open meetings; recognizing and conforming to the legal mandates imposed by state and federal laws; and governing within the limits of the delegation of state authority as a non-profit and public school board.

Additionally, the board has an obligation to assess its successes and challenges, inform the public of all deliberations and decisions, promote accountability, avoid abuse of power, enhance public understanding of its mission, conform to standards of ethical behavior, provide a framework for setting goals, and develop strategic plans for the accomplishment of those goals.

Board Calendar

Board meetings are conducted in accordance with open meeting law. The governing board normally holds board meetings on the first Wednesday of each month. Check the board calendar for exact dates and times. Unless otherwise noted, the meetings are held at:

Athlos Academy of Jefferson Parish
979 Behrman Hwy.
Terrytown, LA, 70056

Quicklinks

Board Members

Harvey Wier, Board Chair | hwier@athlosjp.org
Jaquetta Wright, Vice Chair | jwright@athlosjp.org
Teri Black, Secretary | tblack@athlosjp.org
John Foard, Treasurer | jfoard@athlosjp.org
Elydia Ketchens, Board Member | eketchens@athlosjp.org
Landon Allen, Board Member | lallen@athlosjp.org
Nick Berg, Board Member | nberg@athlosjp.org
Ruben Johnson, Board Member | rjohnson@athlosjp.org
Tiffany Nelson, Board Member | tnelson@athlosjp.org

Committees

Under the direction of the board, a finance committee and a governance committee have been formed.

Finance Committee Members

John Foard, Committee Chair | jfoard@athlosjp.org
Harvey Wier, Committee Member | hwier@athlosjp.org
Landon Allen, Committee Member | lallen@athlosjp.org

Governance Committee Members

Ruben Johnson, Committee Chair | rjohnson@athlosjp.org
Elydia Ketchens, Committee Member | eketchens@athlosjp.org
Nick Berg, Committee Member | nberg@athlosjp.org

Meeting Agendas & Minutes

Contact Information

To reach the Board of Directors or a committee:

Athlos Academy of Jefferson Parish
979 Behrman Hwy.
Terrytown, LA, 70056
(504) 290-2510
info@athlosjp.org