Governing Board

Athlos Academy of Jefferson Parish is governed by a dedicated board comprised of parents, teachers, and community members. The board is responsible for developing, implementing, and assessing policy; instituting sound employee relations; conducting open meetings; recognizing and conforming to the legal mandates imposed by state and federal laws; and governing within the limits of the delegation of state authority as a non-profit and public school board.

Additionally, the board has an obligation to assess its successes and challenges, inform the public of all deliberations and decisions, promote accountability, avoid abuse of power, enhance public understanding of its mission, conform to standards of ethical behavior, provide a framework for setting goals, and develop strategic plans for the accomplishment of those goals.

Seeking Board Candidates

The board is seeking candidates. Parents and/or community members who are interested in serving on the board should save and fill out the school board interest form and submit it to info@athlosjp.org by June 3, 2019.

Board Calendar

Board meetings are conducted in accordance with open meeting law. The governing board normally holds board meetings on the first Wednesday of each month. Check the board calendar for exact dates and times. Unless otherwise noted, the meetings are held at:

Athlos Academy of Jefferson Parish
979 Behrman Hwy.
Terrytown, LA, 70056

Quicklinks

Board Members

Harvey Wier, Vice Chair | hwier@athlosjp.org
Kathleen Robert, Secretary | krobert@athlosjp.org
John Foard, Treasurer | jfoard@athlosjp.org
Landen Allen, Board Member | lallen@athlosjp.org
Imtiaz Siddiqui, Board Member | isiddiqui@athlosjp.org
Teri Black, Board Member | tblack@athlosjp.org
Tiffany Nelson, Board Member | tnelson@athlosjp.org

Vacant, Board Chair
Vacant, Board Member

Committees

Under the direction of the board, a finance & facilities committee and a governance & academics committee have been formed.

Finance & Facilities Committee Members

Committee members will be announced soon.

Governance & Academics Committee Members

Committee members will be announced soon.

Accepting Interest Forms

The board is seeking candidates. Parents and/or community members who are interested in serving on the board should save and fill out the school board interest form and submit it to info@athlosjp.org by June 3, 2019.

Meeting Agendas & Minutes

Contact Information

To reach the Board of Directors or a committee:

Athlos Academy of Jefferson Parish
979 Behrman Hwy.
Terrytown, LA, 70056
(504) 290-2510
info@athlosjp.org